The Really Big One

Well adios my plans to living in California when I get older. I may hate the cold but I’ll take snowy and mean New York over a potentially eradicated Los Angeles any day. And even though I feel that way now and I thanks to The Really Big One I now know the risks associated with living on the coast in California, I kept help but wonder if being too scared to live there is what I should really take away from this article. Or if in 19 years will I be feeling the same way when I get offered the job of my dreams in California. Schulz said that these catastrophic earthquakes happen around every 250 years and that we are already well overdue for one. However, when I think about me living on the beach in one of the biggest cities in America all I can think about is “Well we’re already 60 years overdue… maybe it won’t happen for another 70 or 80 years when I’m dead.” And I do not like myself for thinking this way because while reading this article I was internally screaming at all the people who decided to build business or houses near the fault line or people voting against to move schools to safer areas just for the cost. But now that I am reflecting, I am beginning to realize that if I were in their situation that I would be just like them. Thinking I’m invincible and that there is no way that this mega earthquake will strike as long as I’m there. However, when or if it does, I just pray that if I’m there that I do turn out to be as invincible as I think I am.

Leave a comment